Patrol Area

Exclusive Patrol Area

The exclusive patrol area is all subwatersheds of the Susquehanna River whose flows enter south of Sunbury, PA, not including the Juniata River watershed. This area includes the following major subwatersheds of the Susquehanna River:

  • Chickies Creek (PA),
  • Clark-Paxton Creeks (PA),
  • Codorus Creek (PA),
  • Conestoga River (PA),
  • Conewago Creek (east and west) (PA),
  • Conodoguinet Creek (PA),
  • Deer Creek (MD, PA),
  • Kreutz-Muddy Creeks (PA),
  • Mahanoy Creek (PA),
  • Mahantango Creek (PA),
  • Middle Creek (PA),
  • Octoraro Creek (MD, PA),
  • Penns Creek (PA),
  • Pequea Creek (PA),
  • Shamokin Creek (PA),
  • Sherman Creek (PA),
  • Swatara Creek (PA),
  • Tuscarora-Buffalo Creeks (PA),
  • Wiconisco Creek (PA), and
  • Yellow Breeches (PA).

Extra Territorial Patrol Area

The Lower Susquehanna RIVERKEEPER® also patrols the Juniata Watershed in addition to exclusive territory. This Pennsylvania subwatershed of the Susquehanna includes:

  • Aughwick Creek,
  • Blacklog Creek,
  • Bobs Creek,
  • Brush Creek,
  • Buffalo Creek,
  • Clover Creek,
  • Dunning Creek,
  • Frankstown Branch,
  • Honey Creek,
  • Juniata River,
  • Kishacoquillas Creek,
  • Little Juniata River,
  • Raystown Branch,
  • Standing Stone Creek, and
  • Tuscarora Creek.

Similarly, because the pervasive, rapid development of shale gas reserves throughout the Middle, West, and Upper Susquehanna Watersheds cumulatively threaten ecological integrity, health, and public safety in the Lower Susquehanna Watershed, the Lower Susquehanna RIVERKEEPER® tracks industrial shale gas development and advocates for stringent regulation of that resource throughout the Susquehanna River Basin.